Losurdo Triumphs in 2nd annual Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series ‘Fall Brawl’ at Evans Mills Speedway

EVANS MILLS, NY (September 16, 2018) – A solid of showing of 18 Oswego Small Block Supermodifieds were on hand on a warm September afternoon at the Evans Mills Speedway this past Sunday, and it was 2018 Oswego Speedway track champion Anthony Losurdo leading green to checkered for victory in the Missile Motorsports No. 1 ahead of teammate David LaTulip who finished runner up with the No. 00.

“It was a blast out here today,” Losurdo said in victory lane. “We caught lapped traffic with about two laps to go and I wasn’t sure what to do because I didn’t know how close anyone was to me, but it all worked out. The Missile Motorsports cars finished 1-2 to finish the season so that’s pretty cool.”

Losurdo lead the main event to green alongside Greg O’Connor, and right away it was Losurdo taking the top spot ahead of O’Connor, Brad Haynes, Tim Proud, and Jack Patrick in the top five.

Unfortunately for O’Connor, his strong run ended on lap 12 when the No. 90 went around coming out of turn two, moving Haynes into second and Proud into third.

On the restart, Proud dove under Haynes to take the second spot, but a yellow flag for a spinning Josh Sokolic slowed the field once again.

The next restart showed that the bottom was indeed the place to be as Losurdo would again get the jump, with Haynes finding his way back under Proud to take second and LaTulip filled the gap as well to move into third.

Another pause two laps later for Steve Flack slowing on the turn 1 entrance ramp re-stacked the field, and that proved to be trouble for the No. 27 of Jon Tesoriero and the No. 97 of Vern LaFave.

LaFave, Tesoriero and Jesse Bearup all got together down the frontstretch just prior to the halfway point. Tesoriero was forced to go tail side with LaFave’s day coming to an end with heavy damage sustained to the track owner’s ride. Bearup also drove the No. 37 to the hauler.

Finally, another long green flag run began when the field stormed back down the fronstretch on lap 22, with Losurdo inserting the lead ahead of LaTulip, Haynes, Proud, and 2017 Fall Brawl champion Dave Cliff in the top five.

Despite one more caution flag for a spinning Mike Bruce with 15 laps to go, Losurdo was able to run away unchallenged as he picked up his second series win of the season at the Mills ahead of LaTulip, Haynes, Proud and Cliff in the top five.

Russ Bartlett, Patrick, Tesoriero, Rob Pullen, and Travis Bartlett completed the on track running order. Bruce, Cameron Black, Bearup, LaFave, O’Connor, Flack, Sokolic, and rookie Brian Langer all finished their evenings in the pit area.

Cam’s NY Pizzeria heat race winners were Losurdo, Proud, and Patrick.

Stay tuned to LighthouseLanesSBSSeries.com, LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/LHLSBSupers or FOLLOW on Twitter @LHLSBSupers for updates on the 2019 season schedule for the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series.

About the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series: The Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series is a northeast Small Block Supermodified touring club showcasing the stars and cars of Oswego Speedway’s Pathfinder Bank SBS division. Formed in the spring of 2017 by drivers Mike Bruce and Camden Proud in conjunction with Bob Hoefer at Lighthouse Lanes in Oswego, NY, the series was a three race venture in 2018 and is made possible by the support of Lighthouse Lanes, Cam’s NY Pizzeria, as well as the dedicated team owners, drivers, and fans of Small Block Supermodified racing.

2nd annual Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series ‘Fall Brawl’ 50
Evans Mills Speedway
Sunday, September 16

Feature (50-laps): 1. 1 ANTHONY LOSURDO, 2. 00 David LaTulip, 3. 86 Brad Haynes, 4. 54 Tim Proud, 5. 50 Dave Cliff, 6. 62 Russ Bartlett, 7. 9 Jack Patrick, 8. 27 Jon Tesoriero, 9. 76 Rob Pullen, 10. 91 Travis Bartlett,® 11. 22 Mike Bruce, 12. 23 Cameron Black, 13. 37 Jesse Bearup, 14. 97 Vern LaFave, 15. 90 Greg O’Connor, 16. 32 Steve Flack,® 17. 26 Joshua Sokolic,® 18. 88 Brian Langer®

Heat 1 (10-laps): 1. 1 Anthony Losurdo, 2. 00 David LaTulip, 3. 86 Brad Haynes, 4. 91 Travis Bartlett,® 5. 32 Steve Flack,® 6. 26 Joshua Sokolic®

Heat 2 (10-laps): 1. 54 Tim Proud, 2. 37 Jesse Bearup, 3. 90 Greg O’Connor, 4. 27 Jon Tesoriero, 5. 88 Brian Langer®

Heat 3 (10-laps): 1. 9 Jack Patrick, 2. 50 Dave Cliff, 3. 22 Mike Bruce, 4. 97 Vern LaFave, 5. 76 Rob Pullen, 6. 62 Russ Bartlett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s