Oswego’s Small Block Supermodifieds Return to Revamped Evans Mills Raceway Park on Saturday, September 21

OSWEGO, NY (August 28, 2019) – Oswego Speedway’s Small Block Supermodified Traveling Series will return to the revamped Evans Mills Raceway Park for the 3rd annual ‘Fall Brawl’ on Saturday, September 21.

The late-season appearance by the Small Block Supers will mark the first time since September of 2018 that the series has taken to the Jefferson County oval. The 35-lap headliner is set to pay $1,000 to win and $125 to start based on twelve cars.

“We are looking forward to bringing the Small Block Super class back to Evans Mills Raceway Park,” said event coordinator Mike Bruce. “The Gill Family has put tons of effort into revamping the facility and we’re grateful they have worked with us to organize this event.”

Fans will be greeted by a number of improvements at the re-named Evans Mills Raceway Park, put together at the hands of new owner Lee Gill and family. Enhancements include renovated stands and concessions, a new entrance way, paved pit area, new lighting, and a digital sign.

A handful of teams have already expressed interest in the Fall Brawl including RBI Racing, G.O. Racing, Bartlett Racing, Haynes Racing, and Black Racing among others. Fans will be able to monitor entries at SBSTravelingSeries.com.

Despite the mandatory switch to GM 602 crate engines at Oswego Speedway in 2019, Bruce has decided to make the Fall Brawl event open to 2018 engine rules. This means that any built Small Block Supermodified engine will be eligible to compete.

Evans Mills Raceway Park is conveniently located a short drive from Route 81 at 28412 Steinhilber Road in Evans Mills, NY. More information from the track, including a race day time schedule, can be found at EvansMillsRacewayPark.com.

For more information on the SBS Traveling Series, visit online at SBSTravelingSeries.com. You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSBSSeries or LIKE the series Facebook page at Facebook.com/OswegoSpeedwaySBSTravelingSeries.

About the SBS Traveling Series: The Oswego Speedway SBS Traveling Series is a northeast Small Block Supermodified touring club showcasing the stars and cars of Oswego Speedway’s Pathfinder Bank SBS class. Formed in Spring 2017 by drivers Mike Bruce and Camden Proud, the series will hold its fourth event at Evans Mills Raceway Park in 2019. The series is made possible with the support of Cam’s NY Pizzeria, Lighthouse Lanes, Route 37 Building Supply and the dedicated team owners, drivers, and fans of Small Block Supermodified racing.

Cliff Passes Doyle for Lighthouse Lanes SBS Victory at Spencer Speedway

WILLIAMSON, NY (June 29, 2018) – Dave Cliff, the defending Pathfinder Bank SBS track champion at Oswego Speedway, drove Tim Barbeau’s No. 50 to his second victory in three events with the Lighthouse Lanes Small Block Supermodified Series this past Friday night at Spencer Speedway.

In the division’s first appearance at Spencer since 2009, the main event lineup for the evening was based off of a redraw following the 10-lap qualifier won earlier in the program by Dalton Doyle.

The results of the redraw saw veteran Barry Kingsley pull the pole with Doyle lining up on the outside of the front row while Cliff and Cameron Black fired from row to for the 25-lap feature.

On the initial start, Doyle jumped to the lead from the outside part of the speedway with Cliff grabbing the runner up position almost right away.

Early on it appeared as if Doyle would lead for the duration, but the No. 01 machine got a little bit too tight approaching the halfway point, allowing Cliff to close in and eventually make a low side move for the lead going into the third corner on lap 14.

Five laps after passing Doyle for the lead, Cliff had caught lapped traffic, but that was only until the lone caution flag of the race was put in the air when Mike Bruce lost the handle on the No. 22 while working on Kingsley for the third spot.

Bruce had driven from last to fourth, but in a rather frightening incident, the president of the series instead found himself sliding through the grass and catching air time on one of the infield tire mounds. Bruce was unhurt and escaped with little damage.

Despite lining up double file for the restart with only six laps remaining, Cliff was able to hold off any challenges and walk away with the victory worth $500; his second with the series after dominating the ‘Fall Brawl’ at Evans Mills Speedway last September.

“This was a fun track, I think it’s good for these cars,” Cliff said in victory lane. “Oswego is a big momentum place, but this was a lot different for us. I really wish more guys would have chose to come out and support this show, but hopefully we put on a good race for everyone here.”

With Cliff taking the win, Doyle remained in second, Kingsley third, and rookie Joshua Sokolic capitalized on the caution flag to get up to the fourth spot with Greg O’Connor in fifth, Cameron Black in sixth, and Bruce rounding out the field in seventh.

The next event for the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series will take place in just over two months when the Small Blocks return to the Evans Mills Speedway on Sunday, September 16 for the second annual ‘Fall Brawl 50’ in the North Country.

For more information on the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series, be sure to visit online at LighthouseLanesSBSSeries.com. You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @LHLSBSupers or LIKE on Facebook at Facebook.com/LighthouseLanesSBS.

About the Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series: The Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series is a northeast Small Block Supermodified touring club showcasing the stars and cars of Oswego Speedway’s Pathfinder Bank SBS division. Formed in the spring of 2017 by drivers Mike Bruce and Camden Proud in conjunction with Bob Hoefer at Lighthouse Lanes in Oswego, NY, the series is set to be a three race venture in 2018 and is made possible by the support of Lighthouse Lanes, Cam’s NY Pizzeria, as well as the dedicated team owners, drivers, and fans of Small Block Supermodified racing.

Lighthouse Lanes SBS Series ‘Friday Night Lights’ 25 at Spencer Speedway – Friday, June 29, 2018:

Feature (25-laps): 1. 50 DAVE CLIFF, 2. 01 Dalton Doyle, 3. 91 Barry Kingsley, 4. 26 Joshua Sokolic ®, 5. 90 Greg O’Connor, 6. 23 Cameron Black, 7. 22 Michael Bruce

Qualifying Race (10-laps): 1. 01 Dalton Doyle, 2. 50 Dave Cliff, 3. 91 Barry Kingsley, 4. 23 Cameron Black, 5. 90 Greg O’Connor, 6. 26 Joshua Sokolic ®, 7. 22 Michael Bruce